« Older   Newer »

Ser Procrastinazione

Group
    Veterano
    Creepy Score
    +425

Status
    Anonymous
    A couple of months back I used to be a college teacher, teaching computing development. I wouldn’t call myself a lecturer; I wasn’t good with just talking at people for an hour. Plus my ‘lectures’ never took place in a hall. Most of the time we were in one of my university’s computer suites, very much like a lesson in a normal IT class. Most of my days were spent showing my classes how to design files and documents, and eventually code their own games. I have to tell you, it was a pretty fun games seeing these guys start my class barely being able to code a game of noughts and crosses and leaving after three years being able to make their own fully rendered 3D games.

A little exercise I used to do at the end of the second year of the course would be to give them the ROM documents to some classic 2D games you can find on emulators and forums anywhere online. These ROMs ranged from the Super Mario Brothers to Final Fantasy and everything in between. When I gave them the documents, I used to give them until the beginning of the next year of edit the documents in such a way that you’d be playing a different game, designing new levels and sprites etc. This gives the students a chance to enjoy playing with old games, while also learning how to code for themselves and insert their own creativity into the pieces. Over the years of me doing this, I have had some very mixed results, depending on the level of the students. It ranged from an intriguing “de-make” of Aliens vs. Predator using game mechanics from Contra and Ninja Gaiden, all the way down to a Pokémon game with some truly terrible attempts at changing the game with awful new Pokémon and glitchy game play which was almost painful to play through. Some of the students even tried to frighten me by attempting to make these games ‘scary’ or ‘disturbing’ somehow. Only one student managed to do that.